You don’t kill someone you claim to love.

Your words still echo in my mind years later,
things you said, so long ago..
You said them over and over again..
Once you said, when I would tune you out,
at least I thought I did..
You said “You’ll be alone soon enough”,
You said “No one will be there for you”.
And you knew exactly what you were
doing, didn’t you?
I had to become numb with you..
Emotionally numb.. to protect myself.
Stoic, expressionless, so not to set you off!
Watch what I said, what I did.. oh yes!
Now when I don’t have to be that way,
I’m still that way..
Even when I know why I do this,
I don’t know how to change..
I start to let someone in.. only to run
away when they show me any kind of
caring..
What do they want from me?
Why could they possibly like me?
Or even love me?
You were right… I will be alone..
Because you killed me.. you said you
would, and you did.
You don’t kill someone you claim to love.

Leave a Reply

